…just a little space of expressions…..


food….food…food….

Posted in food,Johor Bahru,malaysia by chrisau on September 24, 2007

woah…what a weekend! I had crabs again in Nusa Bestari, a place in between Tampoi and Taman Perling, JB. This restaurant, which has another competitor just operates besides them, was usually jam packed during evening on weekends. My Crab restaurant

What interest me is they served crabs at very affordable prices from Rm8.80 a plate, and unlike most restaurants, they never go by kg/price. They served a variety of flavours namely, salted-eggs crabs, black-pepper crabs, sweet and sour crabs and nyonya crabs. I tried nyonya crabs but I still find salted-eggs crabs better!

They also served good seafood and curry fish head but the attractions are still the crabs, at least to me.

I give it a 3.5 out of 5 ratings.

Then, on sunday, I tried a newly opened kopitiam in Taman Permas Jaya called ‘Grandpa kopitiam’.

Well, the kopi ok lah….not too bad while I also had kaya toast! mmm…i simply loved kaya toast in the morning with good kopi! So nice……….!

After breakfast, shopped around City Square and stumbled across Stonegrill, which opened an outlet there. I usually patronised the older outlet in Pelangi Plaza. And, well, here’s lunch!!

The outlet was at the basement of the shopping centre and their specialty was to serve food grilled on hot stone ( or maybe, iron). You can have sirloin steak, chicken chop, fish fillet and etc but all of these will be served raw while awaiting it to be cooked on the black iron/stone. I love to put some sauce like black pepper sauce on it while it was ‘cooking’ and sizzling!

Anyway, in case you don’t like western food, there’s also soupy stuffs like tom yam bee hoon or seafood bee hoon, which was also not cooked when served and you have to wait until the hot iron below heats it up!

Well, I give this 3.5 of of 5.

That’s it for another adventurous makan outing and do excuse me for the low res pics which are taken with my phone cam 🙂

4 Responses to 'food….food…food….'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'food….food…food….'.

  1. redchili said,

    O.o
    one plate only RM8.80?
    wah, is really cheappppppppppp
    But I dunno where is Nusa Bestari, hahahahah
    Go back to my home town eat better lar.

    Sabah sea food, wahahaha…

    Kaya toast is best if served with butter together!
    Not the normal one, I meant those ppl who use it to bake cake that type.

    Me haven’t try Stone Grill ler, will find one day try it out.
    Go Kim Gary lar, it is quite nice.
    I love it.
    =)

  2. chrisau said,

    Will try Gary Kim soon….. man…Stonegrill is just besides Gary kim in City Square.

    I bring u to Nusa bestari if you want!! of course ..u belanja la…Rm8.80 only wat…

  3. emay said,

    for this kimgary, i tried the one before in KL, specifically near the underground mrt, its very nice. tried the one at city square (i love it so much that i visited the rest everyday for 1 month when i was there), err sadly, the one at JB abit substandard..
    must try this nusa one oneday, i love seafood at jb 🙂

  4. chrisau said,

    ok..haven’t try the jb or kl one before, though it’s famous in kl. Will try it one day at both places 🙂


Leave a Reply

