…just a little space of expressions…..


My favourite top five songs…..

Posted in malaysia by chrisau on June 6, 2008

No.1 – Two Tribes (Frankie Goes to Hollywood)
I just keep on playing and replaying this song in my early teens. Listening to it on my non-branded ‘Walkman’ or mini cassette player, the song is just too infectious, especially they remixed it with so many versions. In addition, since this song topped the British charts then, I was renting ‘Top of the Pops’ from the video shop (videotape, of course la…)

No.2 – The Wild Boys (Duran Duran)
My favourite band!! Wild Boys is their best ever single and released during their height of popularity.

No.3 – Do they know it’s Christmas time (Band Aid)
Before ‘We are the world’, this is the first song recorded in the 80s for charity. British singers are popular then, and big names like George Michael, Culture Club, Duran Duran, Bananarama, Sting, Phil Collins..etc etc… all came together to record this number. What a mega hit!!

No. 4 – Thriller (Michael Jackson)
Need not say more…..he’s the undisputed king of pop! The music video was cool (then). This is the first time I ever saw a lengthy music video in one videotape…and not forgetting the dance moves by the zombies. 😀

No. 5 – My heart will go on (Celine Dion)
I’m not as crazy in pop songs as compare to my teen years, but somehow this song leaves a deep impression of that fateful Titanic in most of us. I remember I have a tough time getting the CD, it’s sold out after the movie was released.

Leave a Reply

