…just a little space of expressions…..


What a week!phew……

Posted in malaysia by chrisau on November 6, 2008
Tags:

It’s been a week since I rushed down from my working place in Singapore to JB after receiving a call from my wife that my 3 year old son was hospitalised due to dehydration. He was sicked for a few days and complained of stomach pains, vomitting, diarhoea and fever. Though he got better and no longer have fever after seeing two doctors earlier, his gastric flu suddenly turn worst last wednesday and he just throw out whatever he ate or drink. It was actually quite dangerous as the paediatrian urgently wanted him to be admitted and put on a drip.

It was an anxious journey for me 7 days ago while travelling back to JB and later straight to the hospital. Panic and worry thoughts kept haunting me non-stop and fearing something worst may happened. Luckily, I learnt some breathing exercise lately and that helps me to calm down, and focus my attention by talking to the cab driver, amid the palpitations I felt.

It was depressing to see that he has to endure the painful poke to his little hand for the drip which my wife told me he was screaming when the medical staffs did that. Well, it’s also sad to hear him said he’s not feeling well and having stomach pains in mandarin, with no appetite to eat.

Thank God everything’s went well in the end and he was back with energy on the 3rd day of his stayed in the hospital. A lot of prayers already poured on him from my parents, my aunt and of course, myself. Really thank God for that. He was shouting and talking loud in his usual manner and finally, doc gave us the nod for discharged, after 3 days and 2 nights stayed in the hospital.

Considering that we are only being parents for just 3 years, this was really our first big challenge and I’m sure there’s lots of challenges awaiting my wife and me…. πŸ˜‰ Now, I know how hard our parents and aunts/uncles had gone by!

12 Responses to 'What a week!phew……'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'What a week!phew……'.

  1. yanz said,

    hey, hope your son gets completely well asap =)

  2. kikey said,

    good to hear that he is getting better.
    wish he will recover as soon as possible.

  3. chrisau said,

    thanks yanz and kikey! He’s almost fully recovered. Can drink milk and eat rice.

  4. cleffairy said,

    OMG, Chris… I cannot imagine how worried you are. I will pray that you son will be well soon. You will be in my prayers. πŸ˜€

  5. claire said,

    wah chris..u hv lots of good buddies here..including me, ever faithful so called sis of yours.. hehe…
    Yes, bringing up kids are the toughest..from young and till we grow old..they are our responsibilities because we sort of brought them into this world…
    as i told u, my girl also had been admitted before and she was only 5 months old.. perhaps through this, it makes us wiser and mentally stronger…

  6. Gallivanter said,

    Wow, that is certainly not easy…the ups and downs of life…but all the hard work will pay off in the future…. πŸ™‚


  7. I shall be parents in 1-2 years time. Guess I should be prepare for the challenge

  8. chrisau said,

    Thanks Cleffairy! Glad it’s over and it’s time for me to explore new eating outlets!
    claire : issit? well, mine is nothing compare to your trials and tribulations you have endured! And, you still come out victorious!
    Gallivanter :- yeap. it’s not easy but that’s living. There are good and bad times, challenges and despairs…etc. Let’s rejoice in the present day!
    BF: Congrats and just enjoyed your newborn baby’s company. Need not worry so much but do pay attention for every slight discomfort the baby has.

  9. cleffairy said,

    Good thing it’s over. I hate to hear about children being sick. Do take care of your son. πŸ˜€ Children are sensitive and get sick easily. 😦

  10. Celine said,

    OMG! I can imagine how difficult the situation could be for you. Thank God everything is fine now.

    Little kid, stay strong and healthily!

  11. chrisau said,

    Thanks Celine and Cleffairy. He’s fully recovered now. Went for a follow up checkup yesterday, doc. confirmed he’s ok.

  12. amy said,

    Ohhh…that is really agonizing pain for parents seeing their child sick…but, thank God that he is well now. Hoping he will fully recover…and yap…more parenting trials to hurdle but, you can make it okay sensing that you and your wife are truly great parents for your children.


Leave a Reply

