…just a little space of expressions…..


Pekin Restaurant, JB

Posted in food,Johor Bahru,malaysia by chrisau on January 11, 2009
Tags: ,

Talking about food in JB will not be complete if this restaurant is not mentioned. One of the finest restaurant and well-known among the chinese community in JB, it has a few branches thoroughout JB and been around the business for a very long time!

09012009540

This one which I’ve visited is located at Taman Sentosa, which is nearer to the JB CIQ. Usually packed on weekends and even weekdays, they are famous for their crabs. Anyway, too bad we didn’t have crabs for the night but still, have ordered some of their best dishes….

09012009537

Fried prawns with sesame…..best eaten with ‘mantao’ (pau with no fillings). Put one of two fried prawns in the mantao and you have a good time chewing the sweet prawns with taste of sesame seeds all over your mouth and tastebud! šŸ™‚

09012009538

Here’s their specialty toufu. It’s very delicious though I can’t figured out what’s that ‘fungus’ like green thing covering half of the toufu.

090120095391

And here’s one of my favourites…. half-fat pork braised with yam. This one sure whets up your appetiser! The pork and yam simply absorbed all the great and delicious gravy which was so fragrance when bit on it. You can easily order extra bowl of rice just because of this dish!

Pekin Restaurant is located at : – 38, Jalan Baidu Lima, Taman Sentosa 80150 JB.

20 Responses to 'Pekin Restaurant, JB'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Pekin Restaurant, JB'.

  1. cleffairy said,

    OMG, the tofu look so nice… issit cooked in salty sauce or sweet sauce?

    • chrisau said,

      It’s salty ,cleffairy. However, I still haven’t figured out what they cooked the tofu with.


  2. Nice food here. Hope to see the famous crab in the future

    • chrisau said,

      I will post some soon in the future, BF!

  3. Josephine said,

    hmmm….
    Looks yummy.
    Which part of JB?

    • chrisau said,

      Hi Josephine…it’s at Taman Sentosa, facing Stulang laut and Permas Jaya.

  4. calvin said,

    i think we have the fried prawns with sesame seed….but it sucked. next time, post one for me…either dhl or nationwide. basi pun basi lah… šŸ™‚

    • chrisau said,

      haha…Calvin… no worries..when u r here in JB, I bring you there!

  5. claire said,

    wei, my bro, u enjoy food more than i do la.. really jeles..haha.. so much good food in jb..and never tell me till now..

    • chrisau said,

      bo bian claire…last time when you came over ,I was busy, else can bring you to this place. next time lor…. My parents eaten here before…they said it’s nice but a bit ex..compare to Ipoh standard!

  6. Pureglutton said,

    The food looks yummy – making me hungry now!

  7. Josephine said,

    I donno much about JB.
    I only know Larkin, the place where i can get buses back to KL. I know City Square, can do shopping there using RM. And maybe Skudai….
    hahahha
    paiseh lah!

  8. Ju Ann said,

    hey JB!!!

    You live there??? Thanks for recommending this man! I am going to try it soon.

    Me and my family only go to the SAME OLD BORING places for dinner. Dont know where else to go! But now we have pekin to try out! šŸ™‚

    • chrisau said,

      Well, I stayed in JB but work in SG. I have added you to my blog roll.
      You from JB too?

  9. eugene said,

    Love this place, i remember many years ago, it was only one shop lot, now i think they’ve got like extra 2 or three in a row,right?

    this is my in law’s favourtie makan place,,,,

    hey bro, early kong xi fatt chai

    • chrisau said,

      yeap, Eugene…. they have expanded. Very good business… šŸ™‚

  10. harmony said,

    ah food blog always make me hungry. Wonder why they had that prawn with the pau instead. Issit really nice? I prefer it with a 3 layer fatty pork meat instead haha!

    • chrisau said,

      Thanks for visiting!! I guess everybody loves the 3 layer fatty pork! šŸ™‚

  11. harmony said,

    Yeah, talking of it makes me feel like eating it tmr. Sadly nowadays very few places sell it.

    • chrisau said,

      arhh….poor thing, harmony! No worries…go for a vacation where’s there’s a lot of food!:)


Leave a Reply

