…just a little space of expressions…..


De’ Cowboy Cafe, Danga Bay

Posted in banana leaf rice,coffee,food,Johor Bahru,malaysia by chrisau on April 28, 2009
Tags:

Been a while since I’ve been to Danga Bay and notice it’s so different now. The Festive Mall Street was just opened when I last went there but now it’s bustling with shops and kiosks. And, some of the shops have closed or either moved, like the Clark Hatch fitness centre, which had moved to a shophouse nearby.

Well, since my family and I were checking out makan places for dinner, we stumbled upon this cafe and thought it’s a good idea to try it out. Opened by a local chinese owner with cooks from vietnam as well as local malays, they do offered quite lot of varieties, not forgetting there’s a lot of folks patronising it too.

23042009779

Still going ga ga over rendang stuff, I order a banana leaf rice with chicken rendang (gravy). The rendang is milky and it’s very delicious, one of the best rendang I’ve ever tried. You can taste a thick aroma of coconut milk.🙂 This cost RM4.90. I think it’s fair enough.

23042009780

Their belacan is superb!!

230420097812

And, you’ll be surprised viet coffees are served here and that’s how I gotta know that a Viet cook is working here. It’s cheap too, cost RM2.50.

230420097841

De’ Cowboy cafe is located at – Unit 25, Festive Street Mall, Danga Bay.

14 Responses to 'De’ Cowboy Cafe, Danga Bay'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'De’ Cowboy Cafe, Danga Bay'.

  1. meryl said,

    hi chrisau, what do you call that meal with rice in your post? looks spicy and yummy ^_^

    I myself is a food lover and I love to watch TV shows like “NO RESERVATIONS” By Anthony Bourdain,
    “BIZARRE FOODS” by Andrew Zimmerman and “MAN VS. FOOD” Adam Richman here in US. I can’t wait to see your place (Malaysia) on television with Anthony B. and Andrew Z. They travel the world and try different foods in each country … Both of them went to the Philipines before. I love watching tv shows related to foods and i like your site too ^_^

    • chrisau said,

      meryl – i guess when you are reading my post, the contents has been accidentally removed. I have restored it back. It’s called Banana leaf rice (with mutton gravy). oh..didn’t watch that show before ..guess it looks good!

  2. amiable amy said,

    Gosh! I miss eating rice. The Last time I ate rice was last week. I am the only person that eat rice here. They always have mash potato or rolls, I am not used too. Seeing this, reminds me to go to the grocery now and buy my rice. Thanks for sharing my friend.

    • chrisau said,

      amy – awww… poor thing. pinoy dishes with rice is heaven!!

  3. eugene said,

    Bro, can ask something ka? how much you spend a month eating out, just curious.

    as for me, very minimal that’s why i dont know what to blog about food and anything surrounding it

    take care bro,,,

    have a wonderful holiday tomorrow, ya?

    • chrisau said,

      bro – my family usually eat at home during weekdays, it’s only the weekend where we try out certain food outside… didn’t really spend a lot la…

  4. Josephine said,

    vietname coffee only RM2.50???
    cool…

    • chrisau said,

      Jo – ya lor…cheap hor? The coffee damn bitter somemore!

  5. jen said,

    feel so hungry after looking at the pictars, i didn’t do lunch today😦
    btw, where have you been? MIA so long liao

    • chrisau said,

      jen – i was sick la… having fever, sore throat, cough …. a lot of people tot i just came back from mexico..hahaha

      • jen said,

        are you feeling better now? i have the same thing going on as well *cry*

      • chrisau said,

        yup…though still got some phlegm sticking in the lungs😦

  6. meryl said,

    hi chrisau, how are you? happy weekend.

    • chrisau said,

      thanks meryl…


Leave a Reply

